Cover Reveal: The Paths Between The Stars

Today is the day when I finally get to share the beautiful cover art for my forthcoming novel, THE PATHS BETWEEN THE STARS, with the world. This cover was the result of several weeks of back-and-forth with the talented designers at Bookfly Design as we found the concept, honed it in, and fine-tuned the details.…

Read More

Cover Reveal: The Paths Between The Stars

On Wednesday, August 11, I will share the cover art for my forthcoming young adult novel, THE PATHS BETWEEN THE STARS, with the world. If you would like to see the cover a week before everyone else, two days from now on Wednesday, August 4, I invite you to sign up below. You will also…

Read More

The Paths Between The Stars

More than half a decade ago, a story was birthed here on this blog. For fans of Philip Pullman and Neil Gaiman comes my newest novel, THE PATHS BETWEEN THE STARS, a genre-bending story about a young girl finding her way after a devastating loss. Due out in 2021, I’ll offer a complimentary copy to…

Read More

Summer Evenings: A Poem

Sweet is my memory That I am not a morning person– Glorying in the dawn, the revelatory nutty scent of brewing coffee– No. I prefer dusk. Evenings, the onset of dew The fade of heat into something more gentle The smell of dry grass, ready to seed, giving way to rose petal, wet earth. For…

Read More

Heartbeats and Dragon Curves: The Birth of a Story

Guest Post by Daryl Rothman, whose fantasy novel The Awakening of David Rose was published this Monday, September 9. Featured image by Tim Rebkavets on Unsplash What do you think of first when you hear, Jurassic Park? Dinosaurs? Blockbuster? Spielberg? Crichton? Most likely not Ekeland or Gleick. But Michael Crichton credits them in the acknowledgements of his…

Read More

Scars

On the lessons we learn as we age One of the interesting things about getting older is that you learn. You actually do learn. People older than you always talk about this learning experience, but it’s hard to believe until you see it for yourself. You actually learn things about the world as you grow…

Read More

Book Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

It has recently come to my attention that I really like fantasy books. Last summer, I demolished Deborah Harkness’ entire ALL SOULS TRILOGY and Nnedi Okorafor’s WHO FEARS DEATH in three months. Some people might not think that’s a lot of books, but for me, that’s a lot of books. I devoured the first two…

Read More

Today is Literary Libations Launch Day!

Today marks a new milestone in my author career. My first solo book, LITERARY LIBATIONS: WHAT TO DRINK WITH WHAT YOU READ, is gone into the world. Like a bird flying from the nest, it is out of my hands. Now, dear reader, it’s your turn. Your turn to hold, to dog-ear, to spill coffee…

Read More

New Video Alert! What to Drink with A SCANNER DARKLY by Philip K. Dick

Learn what to pour when you open A SCANNER DARKLY by Philip K. Dick

Read More

What Lightning in a Bottle Music Festival Taught Me About Writing Great Characters

A music festival might not seem the ideal place to spend a lot of time thinking about writing, but that’s pretty much all I thought about while I was at Lightning in a Bottle, an electronic music festival at Lake San Antonio, California. Lightning in a Bottle is no ordinary music festival. It’s not like Sasquatch or…

Read More