Cover Reveal: The Paths Between The Stars

Today is the day when I finally get to share the beautiful cover art for my forthcoming novel, THE PATHS BETWEEN THE STARS, with the world. This cover was the result of several weeks of back-and-forth with the talented designers at Bookfly Design as we found the concept, honed it in, and fine-tuned the details.…

Read More

Cover Reveal: The Paths Between The Stars

On Wednesday, August 11, I will share the cover art for my forthcoming young adult novel, THE PATHS BETWEEN THE STARS, with the world. If you would like to see the cover a week before everyone else, two days from now on Wednesday, August 4, I invite you to sign up below. You will also…

Read More

The Paths Between The Stars

More than half a decade ago, a story was birthed here on this blog. For fans of Philip Pullman and Neil Gaiman comes my newest novel, THE PATHS BETWEEN THE STARS, a genre-bending story about a young girl finding her way after a devastating loss. Due out in 2021, I’ll offer a complimentary copy to…

Read More

Heartbeats and Dragon Curves: The Birth of a Story

Guest Post by Daryl Rothman, whose fantasy novel The Awakening of David Rose was published this Monday, September 9. Featured image by Tim Rebkavets on Unsplash What do you think of first when you hear, Jurassic Park? Dinosaurs? Blockbuster? Spielberg? Crichton? Most likely not Ekeland or Gleick. But Michael Crichton credits them in the acknowledgements of his…

Read More

Today is Literary Libations Launch Day!

Today marks a new milestone in my author career. My first solo book, LITERARY LIBATIONS: WHAT TO DRINK WITH WHAT YOU READ, is gone into the world. Like a bird flying from the nest, it is out of my hands. Now, dear reader, it’s your turn. Your turn to hold, to dog-ear, to spill coffee…

Read More

7 Words You Should Delete From Your Manuscript

“In this post, I’ve included a few words that most professional writers and editors will cut as often as possible. You can use this post as a guide to identify overused words in your own writing and cut them out to make your work clearer and more concise.”

Read More

POROUS: First Draft Complete

On Saturday, August 19, I finished my first full-length novel. Despite the fact that I’ve written, edited, and published three books in collaboration with my mom and sister – the Seeds trilogy – as well as a solo novella in the same series, this is my first solo novel. POROUS began in January of 2014 as…

Read More

Four Ways to Ease the Transition from Writing Fiction to Non-Fiction And Vice Versa

So you’re a writer. You’re creative, right? You’re multitalented, right? You’ve got loads of ideas spinning around that ol’ brain of yours, and you want to bring them all to fruition. Whether as short stories, poems, novels, or creative non-fiction, you’re a writer with a lot to offer, and it’s time to turn all those…

Read More

Building Up The Bones: A Poem

I am ready to build my house, now I have bones to to build my walls Feathers to put a roof over my head Stories to lay as my foundations. My windows will be made of eyes So that when I look out of my house, I will see souls The fences around my house…

Read More

Book Review: “The Awakening of David Rose” by Daryl Rothman

In 2013, I met a friend. His name was Daryl. We met at a writing conference, and he told me he was (unsurprisingly) writing a book. Several, actually. He was editing one, a young adult fantasy novel, and was pitching that, along with an adult literary fiction novel, at the conference. He seemed cool. We traded…

Read More